Monday, March 31, 2008

Sree Vidya Ramayanam


Sree Vidya Ramayanam is a version of Ramayana (the story of Lord Rama) that is based out of Devi Sree Lalitha. This says, Lalitha rules the world and all the happenings in Ramayana are also by the orders of Lalitha.


The story of Ramayana as per Srividya ramayanam is as follows.

This starts with the conversation between Agastya and Hayagreeva. Agastya asks Hayagreeva to explain him the Guhya thathvam (secret philosophy) of Brahmmanda purana. Hayagreeva explains it to Agastya as follows.

Once Indra wanted to test the lovely couple (Agalya - Gauthama). So Indra disguised himself as a cock and went to Gauthama's ashram before the day dawned. By making sound like a cock, Indra tricked Gauthama and the latter went out to the river bank for having bath thinking that the day had dawned. At the ashram Agalya was left alone. Indra appeared as Gauthama and tried to misbehave with Agalya. Agalya being a pathi vrathai (one who never thinks of a man other than her husband) and a Devi bhakthai (devotee), found out the intention that Indra was having in his mind and prayed to Devi to save her and make Indra realise his mistake.

Initially before starting for execution of this task, Indra (also a devi devotee) prayed to Devi to protect him in case of any trouble. So after listening to Agalya's plea to save her, Devi turned Agalya into a stone. Now neither Indra nor Agalya would get a bad name.

Indra realised his mistake on seeing Agalya turning into a stone. Gauthama on seeing Indra at his ashram and agalya turned into a stone, judged what could have happened with the prowess of his tapas (meditation).

Origin of Sree vidya ramayanam

To kill the asuras Lalitha originated from the "chith agni kundam" and after killing asuras she married Lord Kameshwara (form of Lord shiva, adorned with jewels). Every body was happy. but Gauthama was still thinking of Agalya. On seeing this, Lalitha announced that everyone including herself will suffer for not helping Agalya at the time of her difficulty in the Ramayana time.

So she said "My form Narayanee will be born as Rama and Narayanan will be born as Lakshman. Form of Parameswara and Brahmma will be born as Bharatha and Chatruguna.

Indra who troubled Agalya is similar to monkey. So he was borne as Sugreeva, the monkey king.

Like Gowthama who suffered a lot from being separated from his wife, Rama, Sugreeva will also need to pay their debt. (Rama and sita wil part and similarly sugreeva and Tara)

Relation to Ramayana

Kausalya, Kaikeyi and Sumitra, wives of King Dasaratha of Ayodhya were ardent devotees of Sree Lalitha, Parameswara and Brahmma,Vishnu respectively. They prayed to their favourite deities and got child(ren) of their choice. Kausalya gave birth to Rama (Devi's form), Kaikeyi to Bharatha (Parameswara's form) and sumitra gave birth to Lakshmana (Vishnu's form) and Chathruguna (Brahmma's form).

The rest are similar to Ramayana by Valmiki. But all happenings are centered at Devi's command.

End Notes

Many versions of Ramayana exists. We cant say this is the right one or so. All are aimed at increasing one's faith towards God. If we take the situation where all including Devi herself are suffering the punishment for not helping Agalya, we can conclude that even God need to repay his debts. This is the wonderful principle of equality.

This Sree vidya ramayana, enforces optimism. If one thinks positively

1. All that happened will seem to be good

2. All that is happening will be good.

3. All that will happen will also be good.

Sri chakram - description

Sri chakram has 9 levels. The description of each level from external to internal is given below.

1. Bhoopuram
This is also called TrilokyamOhana chakram. This chakram enchants the three worlds. The type of yogini in this stage is Prakata yogini. There are totally 28 sakthis - 10 starting with AnimA, 8 starting with Brahmya and 10 mudra sakthis. Tripura is the head for this stage.

2. Shodasa Dalam
The second stage, called as sarvAsa paripUraka chakram fulfills all expectations. Yogini at this stage is Gupta yogini. Tripuresi heads this chakra. There are 16 sakthis starting from kAmAkarshini.

3. Ashta Dalam
This stage is known by the name sarva samkshObana chakram. This agitates all. The gupta tara yoginis are headed by Tripurasundari. There are 8 sakthis starting from ananga, kusuma.

4. Chaturdasaram
The 14 sakthis starting from samkshobini is headed by tripuravAsini. They are the sampradAya yoginis who grants excellence. This stage is also called sarva saubhAgyadAyaka chakram.

5. Bahirdasaram - 10 outer sakthis
The sarvArtha sAdhaka chakram that has 10 sakthis starting from sarva siddhi prada allows one to accomplish all tasks. This stage is headed by tripurasri. They are kulOtheerna yoginis.

6. Antardasaram - 10 inner sakthis
The sarva rakshAkara chakram that has 10 sakthis starting from sarvagyA protects all. This stage is headed by Tripura Malini. They are Nigarba yoginis.

7. Ashtakonam
The 8 sakthis starting from vasini is headed by tripurasiddhA. They are the rahasya yoginis who cures all ailments. This stage is also called sarva rOgahara chakram.

8. Trikonam
The eighth stage, called as sarva siddhiprada chakram grants all perfection. Yogini at this stage is athi rahasya yogini. Tripuramba heads this chakra. There are 3 sakthis starting from kAmeswari.

9. Bindu
The ninth stage, called as sarvAnandamaya chakram grants bliss. Yogini at this stage is parA parAthi yogini. Maha Tripura Sundari is the sakthi in this chakra.

One of the greatest composer sri Muthuswamy dikshithar has written a set of nine kritis - one for each level of the sri chakram under the name - kamalAmba navA varna kritis.

Lalitha Sahasranamam

Origin of LalithA SahasranAmam

LalithA sahasranAmam is a powerful mantra pertaining to Devi worship. It is a hymn that is belived to be originated by the divine order from sree lalithAmbika. This hymn is a collection of thousand names of lalithA. They had been arranged in such a way, describing devi from her head to foot (also called as 'kesAdhi pAdham'). Following this description, comes the description of the sri puram which is located at the centre of the sumEru mountains - the place where lalithAmba resides. Then comes the description of her throne, war against bandAsuran, sookshma swaroopam (or to be imagined) as the kundalini sakthi and some more.

At the 7th level, Ashtagonam or sarva rOgahara chakram of the 9 level sri chakram, the 8 vAg dEvathAs or speech influencing powers reside. They are vasini,kAmeswari,arunA,vimalA,jayinee,modhinee,sarvEswari,kowlini. These 8 saktis compiled this sahasranAmam.

How the sahasranAmam was made available to humans?

Saint AgastyA, who accepted lord Hayagreeva (form of vishnu with a horse face) who is very brilliant as his guru. One day when Hayagreeva came to Agastya's house, the latter asked the former to enlighten him on the divine lalithA sahasranAmA. HayagreevA became happy and taught AgastyA the sahasranAmA. Thus it was made accessible to humans.

Power of LalithA sahasranAmA

LalithA sahasranAmA grants good health and prosperity to all who recites it. The slOkA prevents early death due to ailments and grants long life.